Marquez takes tenth pole of the season in Britain with Pedrosa in 5th


Despite a small crash in this morning’s FP3 session, reigning World Champion Marc Marquez, thundered to his tenth pole – from twelve this season – for tomorrow’s Great Britain GP. 2222

His Repsol Honda teammate, Dani Pedrosa, will start from the second row in 5th place. Another cool and windy day at the Silverstone track, with track temperatures 13ºC lower than in 2013 (22º compared to 35º), meant that the pole position record was never in jeopardy, however, Marc came very close. His pole time of 2’00.829 on his final flying lap (6 of 7) was just 0.138s off his record lap here last year (2’00.691). Dani missed out on a front start by just 0.289s with his best lap of 2’01.464 also on his final flying lap of 7.  Today’s Grand Prix will commences at 13h00 local time.


Marc Marquez profile image
Marc Marquez
1st – 2’00.829

“It was a difficult qualifying session, because it was hard to get heat into the front tyre. However, I am happy with pole position – more than anything because of how comfortable I am feeling this weekend. I am finding it easy to set a fast pace, and this is important at this track, which is bumpy and long. Let’s hope that we have a sunny day tomorrow, or at least that it doesn’t rain, and we will try to fight for the win right from the first lap.”

Dani Pedrosa profile image
Dani Pedrosa
5th – 2’01.464

“Today was a positive day and we have taken a step forward from yesterday with the setup. The tyres also performed better today than in the previous practice sessions. However, I think that we still need to fine-tune the setup to get the tyres performing even better. Qualifying didn’t go completely smoothly, but we were able to put in a good lap. It will be important to get a good start tomorrow and find a strong pace in the race.”


Qualifying Results

  Hertz British Grand Prix – Round 12

Pos. Rider Num. Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marc Marquez 93 ESP Repsol Honda Team HONDA 2’00.829
2 Andrea Dovizioso 4 ITA Ducati Team DUCATI 2’01.140
3 Jorge Lorenzo 99 ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA 2’01.175
4 Aleix Espargaro 41 ESP NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA 2’01.448
5 Dani Pedrosa 26 ESP Repsol Honda Team HONDA 2’01.464
6 Valentino Rossi 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA 2’01.550
7 Bradley Smith 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA 2’01.593
8 Pol Espargaro 44 ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA 2’01.747
9 Stefan Bradl 6 GER LCR Honda MotoGP HONDA 2’01.973
10 Andrea Iannone 29 ITA Pramac Racing DUCATI 2’02.064
11 Scott Redding 45 GBR Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA 2’02.116
12 Alvaro Bautista 19 ESP Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA 2’03.618
13 Yonny Hernandez 68 COL Pramac Racing DUCATI 2’03.046
14 Karel Abraham 17 CZE Cardion AB Motoracing HONDA 2’03.206
15 Cal Crutchlow 35 GBR Ducati Team DUCATI 2’03.407
16 Hiroshi Aoyama 7 JPN Drive M7 Aspar HONDA 2’03.563
17 Alex De Angelis 15 RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA 2’03.686
18 Leon Camier 2 GBR Drive M7 Aspar HONDA 2’03.696
19 Danilo Petrucci 9 ITA IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER 2’04.755
20 Michael Laverty 70 GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART & PBM 2’04.836
21 Hector Barbera 8 ESP Avintia Racing MotoGP FTR-KAWASAKI 2’04.957
22 Mike Di Meglio 63 FRA Avintia Racing MotoGP FTR-KAWASAKI 2’05.451
23 Broc Parkes 23 AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 2’06.106

Circuit Information

Length 5.900 m / 3.666 miles
Width 17m
Left corners 8
Right corners 10
Longest straight 770 m / 0.478 miles
Constructed 1948
Modified 2011
Silverstone Circuit
NN12 8TN
Pole position 2m 00.691s (175.9 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2013)
Race lap 2m 01.941s (174.1 km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2013)
Race time 40m 52.515s (173.2 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2013)
2012 Race Winner Jorge Lorenzo, Yamaha
2013 Race Winner Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)

(Repsol Honda Team)