Marquez takes 12th win of 2014 with victory in Malaysia sealing Constructor’s Title for Honda


Today in Malaysia, 2014 World Champion Marc Marquez has won his 12th race of the 2014 season and secured Honda’s fourth consecutive Constructors Title. Teammate Dani Pedrosa was in contention for a strong finish today but unfortunately crashed out of the race. Dani, starting from 2nd on the grid, leap frogged teammate Marc from the start and led the race entering turn one as Marc had a brief encounter with Lorenzo and briefly dropping down to 8th. As the riders crossed the line at the end of the first lap, Lorenzo had taken the lead from Dani and Marc was already up to 6th. On lap two, Marc continued to storm through the field – setting a new record race lap (2’01.150) – and passing Bradl and Dovizioso to move up to 4th, then in the final corner Dani made a small mistake and lost the front, crashing out at a fairly low speed. He was able to remount the bike and rejoined the race in 20th. Marc now in third began to chase down race leaders Lorenzo and Rossi as Dani instigated his comeback. On lap ten, Marc passed Lorenzo – who had lost the lead to his teammate – and on the final corner Rossi ran slightly wide and Marc was able to pass. Meanwhile Dani had moved up to 11th place but on lap thirteen he lost the front in turn nine and this time was unable to restart. Marc and Rossi put on a good show for the final eight laps but with two laps to go, Marc opened up the throttle and put a three second gap between him and Rossi. This win in Sepang is Marc’s 12th victory of the season, equalling Repsol Honda’s Mick Doohan’s 1997 record for most wins in a single season in the premier class of racing, and has gifted Honda their 21st premier-class Constructors’ title. (Repsol Honda Team)

MARC MARQUEZ – 1st – 2014 MotoGP World Champion

“This was one of the toughest races of the year for me physically and I’m happy to have equalled Mick Doohan’s record! We knew to expect this kind of weather in Malaysia but it was especially hot today and we all foundMARC it hard to finish the race. Halfway into the race the pace slowed down because I think everybody needed to take a breath! I’m happy with how I handled the race, because the first corner was a bit of a nightmare but I was able to come back to the front and stay there, whilst I cooled down my tyres and brakes. I started to attack with 10 laps remaining, then made the difference when there were 5 laps to go.”


DANI PEDROSA – DNF – Championship Standing: 4th – 230 points

“I was enjoying a really good weekend, but in the race I couldn’t get the result. For some reason on lap two I lost the front end and went down. I don’t know what could have happened, because I wasn’t riding on the limit. Luckily I was able to pick the bike back up, continue the race and regain positions. I rode very well afterwards, DANIwith a good feeling, and then the same thing happened again. I wasn’t riding on the limit and I crashed a second time, in the same way as before. We are going to look at what might have happened, because it occurred twice in a row and on the same side of the tyre. I would have liked for the race to have finished in a different manner, because we had been doing a very good job all weekend, but I guess it wasn’t meant to be.”

Race Results – Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Gran Prix – Round 17

1 Marc Marquez 93 ESP 25 Repsol Honda Team HONDA 40’45.523
2 Valentino Rossi 46 ITA 20 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA +2.445
3 Jorge Lorenzo 99 ESP 16 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA +3.508
4 Stefan Bradl 6 GER 13 LCR Honda MotoGP HONDA +21.234
5 Bradley Smith 38 GBR 11 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA +22.283
6 Pol Espargaro 44 ESP 10 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA +34.668
7 Yonny Hernandez 68 COL 9 Pramac Racing DUCATI +38.435
8 Andrea Dovizioso 4 ITA 8 Ducati Team DUCATI +48.839
9 Hector Barbera 8 ESP 7 Avintia Racing MotoGP FTR-KAWASAKI +50.792
10 Scott Redding 45 GBR 6 Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA +59.088
11 Hiroshi Aoyama 7 JPN 5 Drive M7 Aspar HONDA +1’15.949
12 Michael Laverty 70 GBR 4 Paul Bird Motorsport ART & PBM +1’17.966
13 Mike Di Meglio 63 FRA 3 Avintia Racing MotoGP FTR-KAWASAKI +1’27.773
14 Broc Parkes 23 AUS 2 Paul Bird Motorsport PBM +1’44.244
15 Alex De Angelis 15 RSM 1 NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA DNF
16 Danilo Petrucci 9 ITA IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER DNF
17 Dani Pedrosa 26 ESP Repsol Honda Team HONDA DNF
18 Karel Abraham 17 CZE Cardion AB Motoracing HONDA DNF
19 Nicky Hayden 69 USA Drive M7 Aspar HONDA DNF
20 Cal Crutchlow 35 GBR Ducati Team DUCATI DNF
21 Aleix Espargaro 41 ESP NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA DNF
22 Alvaro Bautista 19 ESP Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA DNF

Rider Standings

1 Marc Marquez 93 ESP 337 Repsol Honda Team HONDA
2 Valentino Rossi 46 ITA 275 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
3 Jorge Lorenzo 99 ESP 263 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
4 Dani Pedrosa 26 ESP 230 Repsol Honda Team HONDA
5 Andrea Dovizioso 4 ITA 174 Ducati Team DUCATI
6 Pol Espargaro 44 ESP 126 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
7 Bradley Smith 38 GBR 119 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
8 Aleix Espargaro 41 ESP 117 NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA
9 Stefan Bradl 6 GER 109 LCR Honda MotoGP HONDA
10 Andrea Iannone 29 ITA 102 Pramac Racing DUCATI
11 Alvaro Bautista 19 ESP 89 Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA
12 Scott Redding 45 GBR 75 Go & Fun Honda Gresini HONDA
13 Hiroshi Aoyama 7 JPN 67 Drive M7 Aspar HONDA
14 Cal Crutchlow 35 GBR 64 Ducati Team DUCATI
15 Yonny Hernandez 68 COL 53 Pramac Racing DUCATI
16 Nicky Hayden 69 USA 44 Drive M7 Aspar HONDA
17 Karel Abraham 17 CZE 33 Cardion AB Motoracing HONDA
18 Hector Barbera 8 ESP 21 Avintia Racing MotoGP FTR-KAWASAKI
19 Alex De Angelis 15 RSM 15 NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA
20 Danilo Petrucci 9 ITA 13 IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER
21 Colin Edwards 5 USA 11 NGM Mobile Forward Racing YAMAHA